top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Real Ding

Cate Le Bon announces new album 'Pompeii'

Photo: H Hawkline

Following up the release of her highly-praised 2019 LP 'Reward', Cate Le Bon has now returned to announce the details behind her new studio album 'Pompeii', which is set to be released on the 4th February via Mexican Summer.

The new full-length is being previewed by the new single 'Running Away' which features Warpaint's Stella Mozgawa on drums and comes accompanied by a stunning Casey Raymond-directed video.

Speaking about the new record, she said, “Pompeii was written and recorded in a quagmire of unease. Solo. In a time warp. In a house I had a life in 15 years ago. I grappled with existence, resignation and faith. I felt culpable for the mess but it smacked hard of the collective guilt imposed by religion and original sin.

"The subtitle is: You will be forever connected to everything. Which, depending on the time of day, is as comforting as it is terrifying. The sense of finality has always been here. It seems strangely hopeful. Someone is playing with the focus lens. The world is on fire but the bins must go out on a Tuesday night. Political dissonance meets beauty regimes. I put a groove behind it for something to hold on to. The grief is in the saxophones.”

Check out the new video for 'Running Away' and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Pompeii' Tracklist:

1. Dirt on the Bed

2. Moderation

3. French Boys

4. Pompeii

5. Harbour

6. Running Away

7. Cry Me Old Trouble

8. Remembering Me

9. Wheel


bottom of page