top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Real Ding

Bess Atwell announces new album 'Already Always'

Following up her recent run of blissful offerings, fast-rising singer and songwriter Bess Atwell has now announced her plans for her new studio album 'Already Always', which is set to be released on the 24th September via Lucy Rose's label Real Kind Records.

The new full-length will include the previously shared tracks 'Co-op' and 'Time Comes In Roses', and is being previewed by the enticing new lead single 'All You Can Do'.

Speaking about the new song, she said, "You can only live in turmoil and guilt for so long. This song was a rare moment of relative ruthlessness. A moment to breathe and stop apologising for the way I felt, and to try out blaming the other person; "I've gone stale / and I don’t think you taste it / well why don't you taste it.

"However, even in an instance of liberation, I didn't want to shy away from the fact that, humanly, a longing for meaning and guidance still nagged at me; "I treat you like a confessional / but I'm no good at fearing God at all.

"I had spent a long time feeling powerless, as if I were my partner's pet. I spent the best part of a year living in his house, eating the food he cooked, being looked after by him. This song is a daydream of role reversal and an exploration of reclaiming control; "you're my sweet puppy / but is man's best friend on a lead".

While adding about the new video, "There's a tonne of domestic imagery throughout the record, and this song is no exception. The video for Co-op was slightly more surreal, so I wanted the next video to be in a more domestic setting. I worked with director Dylan Hayes who came to my parents' house in Sussex to shoot with his DOP Owain Morgan. The bedroom scene was shot in the attic, where I spent the first lockdown, so it was fun to see it looking quite so dreamy on film.

"The idea was similar to that for the Co-op video, the concept being 'the domestic meets the surreal' but executed differently. We wanted to create mundane scenes, but amp them up to a point of surrealism (chopping a ridiculous amount of apples / sitting at a desk with unnecessarily tall stacks of books). I wanted the video to feel weighed down by domiciliary tasks, claustrophobic even. I'm the only person in the video which makes it feel extra lonely when contrasted with the fact I'm preparing so much food.

"I was lucky enough to be reached out to by Bvlgari who kitted us out with wardrobe accessories. It got to a point where I was just having fun playing dress-up which worked to make the video a little tongue-in-cheek - I'm pictured outside, wind blowing in my hair, wearing a black trench coat and sunglasses, almost parodying what a music video might look like."

Watch the new video for 'All You Can Do' and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Already Always' Tracklist:

1. Co-op

2. All You Can Do

3. Silver Fir

4. Dolly

5. Love Is Not Enough

6. How Do You Leave

7. Time Comes in Roses

8. Red Light Heaven

9. Olivia, in A Separate Bed

10. Nobody


bottom of page