top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Real Ding

James Vincent McMorrow announces new album 'Grapefruit Season'

With a rich and varied mix of new material landing in our laps over the last few months, the ever-impressive James Vincent McMorrow has now announced his plans for his new studio album 'Grapefruit Season', which is set to be released on the 16th July via Columbia Records.

Featuring previously shared singles 'Gone' and 'Be Somebody' ft. Rudimental, the new record is also being previewed by the new lead track 'Waiting', a song that sees him return to his humbled and acoustic-led roots.

Speaking about the new collection, he said, “Every time a new song or album comes out, I get a mail asking me to put together some thoughts on the songs and how they came together, where they came from, what they mean. The truth is I just live my life, the songs come when they come, and they come from wherever they come from. Then once they're done I start worrying about if they're good enough, if I mean enough to make them good enough.

"This last year has been a massive lesson in patience for all of us. But I don’t feel any more patient than I did before, in fact the opposite, I feel impatient. I had this album finished last year and then the world stopped and I had to stop. I remember sitting in my car crying after I heard that we'd be parking the work until 2021, and then I wrote ‘Waiting.’ It’s a song about feeling sorry for myself, and then going home and talking to the one person in my life who understands just how awkward a fit all of this is for me, and who loves me for the actual human I am and not what I curate in order to feel like the person I need to be.

"I don’t know if any of this makes any sense - but ‘Grapefruit Season’ is about embracing the idea nothing makes sense. None of it is supposed to be linear. Music isn't some holy grail to a greater meaning, it's supposed to remove you from where you are for a moment and take you somewhere else. And I'm not saying that isn't a transcendent thing, because when it's done well it truly is. And I believe/hope I have done it well with this album. I'm just saying that at the end of the day, music is a simple idea unadorned idea that doesn't need bells and whistles to make it work.... unless you're making an album where the only instruments are bells and whistles, then you definitely need them to make it work.”

Listen to the new single 'Waiting' and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Grapefruit Season' Tracklist:

1. Paradise

2. Gone

3. Planes In The Sky

4. Tru Love

5. Waiting

6. Poison To You

7. We Don’t Kiss Under Umbrellas Like We Used To

8. A House and a River

9. Hollywood & Vine

10. Cliché

11. Headlights

12. I Should Go

13. Grapefruit

14. Part of Me

bottom of page