top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Real Ding

Ezra Furman announces new album 'All Of Us Flames'

Photo: Tonje Thilesen

After the enormous response for her 2019 LP 'Twelve Nudes', Ezra Furman has now announced her plans for her new studio album 'All Of Us Flames', which is set to be released on the 26th August via Bella Union.

The new full-length will include the previously shared cuts 'Book Of Our Names' and 'Point Me Toward The Real', and is being previewed by the new lead single 'Forever In Sunset', with a new video directed by Noel Paul.

Speaking about the new offering, she said, “The biggest influence on the lyrics of this song is a conversation I had with a friend of mine. When Covid was first hitting, she was talking to me a lot about how ready she felt. She was like, ‘people who have been comfortable in life are freaking out right now. But queer people like me have been in crisis before. I grew up poor and my family kicked me out when I was a teenager. My world has already ended plenty of times before, and we queers know what to do: we take care of each other, we help each other out, we have a network of support for the crises we know will hit us from time to time.’

"And then she lost her job and ended up moving in with me and my family for like three months. And she was right, we were okay and we were taking care of each other.

"That influenced a lot of what the whole record is about. But ‘Forever in Sunset’ is specifically a woman who’s been through some shit speaking to a new lover who is becoming attached to them, trying to warn the lover about how she is trouble, about how she has been through crises and they will come again. And that’s just how she lives, never settled, never safe, but also never defeated/finished - "forever in sunset."

"Sometimes it feels like crisis is hitting more and more of the general population. They think the world is ending. But people who have been through a personal apocalypse or two have something to teach them. The world doesn’t end, shit just happens and if we don’t die we have to take care of each other.”

Check out the new video for 'Forever In Sunset' and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'All Of Us Flames' Tracklist:

1. Train Comes Through

2. Throne

3. Dressed in Black

4. Forever in Sunset

5. Book Of Our Names

6. Point Me Toward the Real

7. Lilac and Black

8. Ally Sheedy in The Breakfast Club

9. Poor Girl A Long Way From Heaven

10. Temple Of Broken Dreams

11. I Saw the Truth Undressing

12. Come Close


bottom of page