top of page
  • Writer's pictureThe Real Ding

Bleachers announce new album 'Take The Sadness Out Of Saturday Night'

Photo: Carlotta Kohl

Following on from the release of their incredible 2017 LP 'Gone Now', Jack Antonoff's Bleachers project have now announced their new studio album 'Take The Sadness Out Of Saturday Night', arriving on the 30th July via RCA Records.

The new full-length will include the previously shared singles '45' and their Bruce Springsteen collaboration 'Chinatown', and is being previewed by the terrific new lead track 'Stop Making This Hurt'.

Speaking about the new offering, Antonoff said, "’Stop Making This Hurt’ is what you get when we are not allowed to go play for our people. it’s a line that had been ringing in my head for years. i fell into a dark place after a loss and then starting to have that feeling of rage towards the depression - which is when you know there’s a way out. started looking at the people close to me in my life and finding all the ways we keep ourselves from breaking through. “Stop Making This Hurt” started ringing more and more in my head. then the pandemic hit and i got the band in a room and we played like we may never play again. at that point it took on another meaning. found myself banging at the door of the next phase of my life and to open brings up all the darkness from the past and what’s holding you back. i could intellectualise it for days but what im truly left with is a voice in my head shouting “Stop Making This Hurt”."

Check out the new video for 'Stop Making This Hurt' and see the album's full tracklisting below.

'Take The Sadness Out Of Saturday Night' Tracklist:

1. “91”

2. “Chinatown” (feat. Bruce Springsteen)

3. “How Dare You Want More”

4. “Big Life”

5. “Secret Life”

6. “Stop Making This Hurt”

7. “Don't Go Dark”

8. “45”

9. “Strange Behavior”

10. “What'd I Do with All This Faith?”


bottom of page